Chrisitian Life · Faith · Family

The Funeral (Part 1)

I hesitate to write this. There is nothing I can add that hasn’t already been said about my Grandpa. Here, I am speaking of the Reverend Norman Heintz, my mother’s father. Many people knew and loved him throughout his life and ministry.   Last December, on the trip to say goodbye to a man we dearly loved, I was struck by two different thoughts. I’ll spend some time on the first in this post. The second I will explain later.

The first happened during the memorial service. While my uncle’s sermon was thoughtful and gospel-centered and the hymns were just right, that isn’t what I’m going to remember fifty years from now. It was when my family–all two rows of us–stood up, faced forward, and began to recite together:

I believe in God the Father Almighty, maker of heaven and earth. And in Jesus Christ, His only Son, Our Lord, who was conceived by the Holy Spirit, born of the virgin Mary..

The Apostles Creed.

Why was that so incredible?  If you are in a liturgical church, you might recite this every week.  If you aren’t, then creeds might not be so important. Either way, this summary of the Christian faith isn’t anything new.  People have been reciting these words, in various languages, for almost two thousand years (give or take several centuries).

Wait.  Let’s say that again: people have been reciting this creed for hundreds and hundreds of years. That means every generation has taught it to their children, and their children taught it to their children, and their children taught to their children, all the way through the centuries until it came down to us. It must be important.

As I thought this, I looked around–really looked–at my family. Families aren’t perfect, and mine is no exception. I apologize to my family for saying this, but seriously: we’re a sorry bunch. We can be vain, conceited, and thoughtless. We can do stupid things and hurtful things to each other and ourselves. We are helpless, hapless sinners, and of course, I’m including myself in that motley crew. Yet there we all were, confessing Jesus as Lord and Savior.

Now perhaps there were those who were reciting out of habit or because it was a pastor’s funeral. But it seems to me that if one really had rejected one’s faith, it would feel wrong to confess the opposite. I’m also reminded of that verse:

“…No one speaking in the Spirit of God ever says “Jesus is accursed!” and no one can say “Jesus is Lord” except in the Holy Spirit.” 1 Corinthians 12:3
What is the greatest work of the Holy Spirit? Is it healing? Is it tongues? Of course not.  We know that the greatest work of the Holy Ghost is the confession He places upon our tongues: “Jesus is Lord.” No matter where any of us felt we were in our “faith lives” at that point, faith was there.

It is amazing how God uses us.  I am often reminded that some of our greatest “work” in this life is done when we are completely unaware of it.  I don’t think my grandpa, if anyone had asked him as a kid how he was going to serve God, would have answered, “I’m going to get married, have lots of kids, and raise them to believe in Jesus.” That part just kind of happened, meeting my Grandma, getting married, having kids… It’s just a normal thing people do. 

I know some of you are already protesting, “But Katrina, it didn’t just happen by chance!  God’s hand was in every bit of it. In every triumph and shining moment.  In the mistakes, the self-doubt, and sorrow. In every tiresome and tedious bit in between.God worked through everything!”

Yes. He did.

Which is why those front two rows of people stood up that day and said the Creed.

 

 

The Apostle’s Creed

I believe in God, the Father Almighty, Maker of heaven and earth.
And in Jesus Christ, His only Son, our Lord, who was conceived by the Holy Spirit, born of the virgin Mary, suffered under Pontius Pilate, was crucified, died and was buried. He descended into hell. On the third day He rose again from the dead. He ascended into heaven and sits at the right hand of God the Father Almighty.  From thence He will come to judge the living and the dead.
I believe in the Holy Spirit, the holy Christian Church, the communion of saints, the forgiveness of sins, the resurrection of the body, and the life everlasting.

Amen

 

Leave a comment